Steering joints

Joints for steering columns and steering racks ensure a secure seal between the engine compartment and the cabin and, where relevant, the mobility of the steering column.

They protect the vehicle occupants from the noise, fluids and heat produced by the engine. Steering joints therefore ensure that the steering column turns more easily, regardless of steering wheel adjustments or bodywork tolerances.

SACRED EXPERTISE

SACRED’s expertise across the entire development chain, ranging from formulating its own elastomers and in-house validation of prototypes, to digital simulation using finite element analysis, gives us a significant competitive advantage in terms of time and cost savings in achieving our customers’ specifications.

DISTINCTIVE DESIGN

SACRED provides innovative solutions that can meet the most demanding functional specifications for acoustic attenuation (multi-walled joints), rotation torque (roller bearing system), mounting forces (clip or screw joints) and water-tightness (immersion).

VALIDATION/TESTING

SACRED also has all the test facilities compliant with automotive industry standards required to validate steering joints. Different test benches allow us to measure pressure and acoustic intensity in small test booths, to measure rotation torque in-situ in the vehicle and to carry out climate tests, watertightness tests and sealing performance tests against dust and mud. Mounting and dismantling forces are measured on our columnar force testers.

DIFFERENT MARKET SEGMENTS AND CUSTOMERS

Our products are used in all brands of passenger vehicles, from the most basic to the most sophisticated, and in all commercial vehicles. We are direct suppliers to manufacturers including Renault-Nissan-Mitsubishi, Groupe PSA and Aston Martin, as well as all the leading original equipment manufacturers of steering systems such as Bosch AS, Willi Elbe, ThyssenKrupp Presta, JTEKT and ZF-TRW.

Contact us to discuss your specific requirements

Joint de direction

Les joints de colonne de direction et de crémaillère assurent l’étanchéité entre le compartiment moteur et l’habitacle et le cas échéant la mobilité de la colonne de direction.

Ils permettent d’isoler les occupants du véhicule des bruits, des fluides et de la chaleur provenant du moteur. Les joints de direction assurent aussi une rotation aisée de la colonne quels que soient les réglages volant et les tolérances de carrosserie.

EXPERTISE SACRED

La capacité de SACRED à maîtriser toute la chaîne de développement, de la formulation de ses propres élastomères aux validations en interne des prototypes en passant par la simulation numérique par éléments finis, représente un avantage significatif en matière de coût et de délai dans l’atteinte des spécifications de nos clients.

SPECIFICITE DESIGN

SACRED propose des solutions innovantes permettant de répondre aux cahiers des charges fonctionnels les plus exigeants sur l’atténuation acoustique (joints à multiples parois), le couple de rotation (système de palier tournant), les efforts de montage (joints clipsés ou vissés) et l’étanchéité à l’eau (immersion).

VALIDATION / TEST

SACRED dispose aussi de tous les moyens d’essais répondants aux standards automobiles pour valider les joints de direction. Nos différents bancs nous permettent de mesurer la pression et l’intensité acoustique en petite cabine et les couples de rotation en positions véhicules et d’effectuer les essais d’endurance climatique et les essais d’étanchéité à l’eau, aux poussières et à la boue. Les efforts d’assemblage ou de désassemblage sont mesurés sur nos colonnes dynamométriques.

DIFFERENTS SEGMENTS / CLIENTS

Nos produits sont présents sur toutes les gammes de véhicules particuliers, du plus basique au plus luxueux, et sur tous les véhicules utilitaires. Nous fournissons directement les constructeurs RENAULT-NISSAN-MITSUBISHI, Groupe PSA ou ASTON MARTIN et tous les principaux fabricants d’équipement d’origine dans les systèmes de direction tels que BOSCH AS, WILLI ELBE, THYSSENKRUPP PRESTA, JTEKT, ZF-TRW.

Contactez-nous pour étudier ensemble
vos besoins spécifiques